About OCIP

The Online Course Improvement Program (OCIP) provides professional development focused on improving the quality of online courses and online teaching for NMSU – Las Cruces. OCIP is part of Instructional Innovation and Quality.


The mission of the Online Course Improvement Program (OCIP) is to support quality online education at NMSU in alignment with ARP 4.69 Academic Rules for Distance Education.


The goals of the Online Course Improvement Program (OCIP) are grounded in online education research to:

  • ensure quality online course design;
  • foster best practices in online teaching;
  • support faculty through mentorship, professional development and resources; and
  • promote a culture of quality in distance education for the NMSU system.


OCIP faculty development services are funded by the Course Delivery Fee charged to Distance Education courses. Many thanks to the Associated Students of NMSU (ASNMSU) for their support of OCIP from 2009-2016 by providing funds from the NMSU Student Technology Fee.

Advisory Board

OCIP has an advisory board that meets three times a year to provide guidance and review the status of the program. One representative from each of the following organizations serves on the board. One of the main duties of the Board is selecting the Leading the Way recipient for recognition at the annual IIQ Awards and Recognition Ceremony. To see recipients of this award, please visit the Awards and Recognition page.

  • Student Technology Advisory Council
  • Faculty Advisory Committee for Technology
  • Library Services
  • Educational Technologies
  • The Teaching Academy
  • Information and Communication Technologies

OCIP Advisory Board Members

  • Betsy Stringam, College of Agricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences, Chair
  • Henrietta Pichon, College of Education, Chair Elect
  • Douglas Cortes, College of Engineering
  • Conni DeBlieck, College of Health and Humans Services
  • Greg Fant, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Morgan Iommi, Teaching Academy
  • Jennifer Chandler, Information and Communication Technologies
  • Patricia MacGregor-Mendoza, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jim Hoffmann, College of Business
  • Kristin Kew, College of Education
  • TBD, Graduate College
  • John Sandstrom, Library
  • Glen Throneberry, STAC Representative


PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com