IIQ Recognizes Faculty at the 2017 Quality in Distance Education Awards

Dr. Jennifer Kreie, recipient of the 2017 Leading the Way Award.

On October 11th, 2017, Instructional Innovation & Quality (IIQ) hosted their 4th annual Quality in Distance Education Awards event to recognize individuals from NMSU-Las Cruces campus for their efforts in improving online education. Recognition was given to all of the 2016-17 graduates of the One-Year-Plus Fellowship program, New2Online program, Course Development Institute, Quality Matters (QM) Peer and Master Reviewers, faculty whose courses met a QM Internal or Formal Review, and to the OCIP Advisory Board members for their service.

Each year a faculty member is named as the Leading the Way recipient. This award recognizes a faculty, staff, or administrator who “walks the talk” in terms of leadership, service, learning and professional growth in the areas of educational technology, online teaching and learning, as well as policy. The Award recognizes someone who is an advocate and change agent in both actions and words. This year’s recipient was Dr. Jennifer Kreie, from the College of Business.

In addition to recognizing faculty for their hard work, IIQ honored two colleagues, Dr. Robert “Bob” Paz from Engineering, and Dr. Steve Leask, from Academic Technology, who passed away this last year. Several members of the IIQ team and the NMSU community worked this past year on creating a scholarship fund to memorialize Steve Leask, and the first recipient of this Steven T. Leask Memorial Technology Fund was revealed last night, David Henio, a disabled Native American Veteran from Thoreau, New Mexico.

This entry was posted in News, Recognition. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com